Jottings of an Island Miss

Just another WordPress.com weblog

VK Lingam & Ahmad Fairuz Remix – It Wasn’t Me!

VK Lingam : “It looks like me, it sounds like me, BUT-“

Here’s the excerpt of Lingam’s Q&A with the Royal Commision over Lingam-Gate:

Q: Are you the man speaking on the phone?
A: It looks like me.
Q:So are you the man speaking on the phone?
A: My answer is – irrespective of what other have said – it looks like me, it sounds like me. I have consulted my experts overseas, (they said) the only way to verify its authenticity is to have the original video or equipment (which made the video clip) itself. If I have (the original video or equipment), I will send them to my experts and if necessary, I will ask them to testify.
Q: Can you identify the person sitting on the sofa talking to a person who looks like you?
A: It is not very clear, it looks like Loh Mui Fah.
Q: Who are you speaking to in the video clip?
A: I don’t know who I was speaking to….
Q: You don’t know who?
A: I don’t know who I was speaking to but certainly I wasn’t speaking to Tun Ahmad Fairuz (Sheikh Abdul Halim, then chief judge of Malaya) because I never had his telephone number and he never had my telephone number either. To date, he has never called me and I never called him.
Q: Referring to the video clip again, you are admitting the person is you?
A: It looks like me. You can ask the question 100 times, I will still give you the same answer.

The full Q&A is with Malaysiakini.

All this reminds me a bit of a Shaggy song –

VK Lingam:         but he caught me on the phone
Ahmad Fairuz:    it wasn’t me
VK Lingam:         talking to Ahmad Fairuz
Ahmad Fairuz:    it wasn’t me
VK Lingam:         I was fixing the judicary 
Ahmad Fairuz:    it wasn’t me
VK Lingam:         he even caught me on camera
Ahmad Fairuz:   it wasn’t me

Let me be a bit helpful to the Royal Commission by introducing them to the ‘Duck Test’:

If a bird looks like a duck, swims like a duck and quacks like a duck, then it’s probably a duck.”

The Duck Test is an inductive reasoning method to help a person figure out the true nature of an unknown subject by observing this subject’s readily identifiable traits. It is sometimes used to counter abstruse arguments that something is not what it appears to be.

If the person in the video tape looks like a VK Lingam, behaves like VK Lingam and sounds like VK Lingam, then it’s probably ……”

Come on RCI – you can fill in the blanks, can’t you?

Observing the proceedings of the Royal Commision on the Lindam inquiry, it is becoming apparent that this Royal Commission Inquiry is fast turning into a political sandiwara. I feel like the intelligence of Malaysian society is being insulted.

Tuesday, 22 January, 2008 - Posted by | Lingam-Gate | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. RCI may not be able to flim in the blanks after years of NEP and years of subsidy. They may need a foreign expert to fill in the blanks bcos ” Ai Yah it’s tax payers money what, not Haidar’s money ”

    “If the person in the video tape looks like VK Lingam, behaves like VK Lingam and sounds like VK Lingam, then it’s probably A DUCK ” , right Haidar ?

    How the hell do people like you become judges, lawyers and Prime Ministers?

    Comment by Malayamuda | Tuesday, 22 January, 2008

  2. Now what was the original motive when a Copy of the Clip was given to lawyer Manjit Singh? The Lohs were not happy as they could not get a fees refund from Lingam and Manjit was not paid his fees. Lingam was acting for Loh’s father and Lingam was sued by Loh’s mother over a matrimony case. So was it revenge & hatred? Never mind about Anwar’s motive.

    Further Lingam says “It looks like me and it sounds like me”. He said he was not going to say anything more until the original recording had been verified. The defence of Lingam’s hinges on his IMPOSSIBLE demand of the “original” copy of the Video Clip. It was first recorded in a memory card and resided in the Sony 707 Digi camera. The purpose of the memory card is for recording purpose and has limited capacity and its full content must be transferred out for further use. So the “original” is lost forever and Lingam is now insisting that without the original he cannot get the clip verified as he had read literature and research that states “that authenticity cannot be established without the original recording and when he had the original recording, he would send it to his consultants to verify its authenticity”. In this he must have been grossly misled. A duplicate would faithfully reproduce the original otherwise how will the “original” CDs and Cassettes be made for sale? More details at
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2008/01/more-pics-lingam-insists-on-original.html

    Comment by multidimid | Tuesday, 22 January, 2008

  3. mahathir, never ever open your mouth after this as people will question if you indeed can remember and whether you have become senile

    Comment by rkm | Tuesday, 22 January, 2008

  4. “Observing the proceedings of the Royal Commision on the Lindam inquiry, it is becoming apparent that this Royal Commission Inquiry is fast turning into a political sandiwara. I feel like the intelligence of Malaysian society is being insulted”

    Exactly! This is what it was intended in the beginning.
    The Commissioners are being fooled around like clowns in the circus. They should come down hard on lingam.
    Who can be blamed. It started from TDM. He is the one who started the”I can’t remember” answers and the rest followed.
    Tell me whether it is coincidental that Tengku Adnan gave the excuse that Lingam was drunk and the latter also used the same weapon.
    But anyway Lingam is never drunk on the night in question. His speech was not slurry, an attributes of drunkard andwas very coherant.
    His is giving an excuse which if accepted by the commssioners would bejoke of the year!!!

    Comment by ultraman | Tuesday, 22 January, 2008

  5. DRUNKS usually speak the truth. You mean he was drunk and he managed to say exactly who the judges that had been picked by the Prime Minister ? He managed the whole story as it is until in unfolded in 2002 / 2003 and now he says he was drunk and he could have been speaking nonsense.

    Drunkness is not an excuse to go scott free. If a drunk rapes your mother, is that an excuse ? If a drunk drives recklessly and kills another is that OK ? So if you’re drunk it’s OK ? what about drug addicts high on drugs, its ok to commit crimes when you are high on alcocol and drugs is it Lingam ?

    Your whole family is against you, doesnt that tell you something ? It tells you that you are disliked even when you are not drunk

    Comment by Malayamuda | Tuesday, 22 January, 2008

  6. Been drunk before. And that guy who “looks like Lingham and sounds like Lingham” is very Lingham and does not look drunk. But then again the RCI fellows might want to believe that there are people who can only talk sober when drunk!

    Anyway hopefully the sandiwara ends soon.

    Comment by Lone | Tuesday, 22 January, 2008


Leave a Reply

